General Information

This site provides general information about the Manulight2014 conference concerning visa application, transportation, accommodation, etc.
Conference Venue
dortmunder u dortmunder u dortmunder u
Click images to enlarge

The U

The Dortmunder U shows artworks from 20th and 21st centuries, develops innovative concepts of cultural education in the digital age, initiates partnerships between art and science, and cooperates with different players in the context of creative industries.

As a centre of international caliber in North Rhine-Westphalia it is a partner for regional as well as international projects and collaborates with other international institutions in the interdisciplinary field. The "U" will embody an innovative practice at the intersection of art, research, creativity, cultural education and economy.

It is a public place for research and study as well as for the experience and the discourse over art, media and today's culture for all citizens and ages. The "U" is based on a cooperation of diverse users of the U-Tower building: the Museum Ostwall, the Hartware MedienKunstVerein, the Cultural Office of the City of Dortmund, the Dortmund University of Applied Sciences and Arts, the TU Dortmund University, the european centre for creative economy (ecce) and the association U Cinema, operating the RWE Forum. Culinary offerings are provided for on the U7 floor by the restaurant View.

The Dortmunder U opened in the framework of RUHR.2010 - European Capital of Culture.


Dortmunder U
44137 Dortmund
Phone: +49(0)231.50-24723
Accommodation in Dortmund
Hotel Pullman Dortmund
Lindemannstr. 88
D-44137 Dortmund
Tel. +49 231 91 130

Arranged conference rate: 80,00 € per night / room
Deadline for bookings according to special conference rate: February 2nd, 2014
Number of rooms available until deadline: 30

TRYP Dortmund Hotel
Emil-Figge-Str. 41
D-44227 Dortmund
Tel. +49 231 970 50

Arranged conference rate: 81,00 € (standard) / 90,00 € (comfort) per night/room
Deadline for bookings according to special conference rate: February 18th, 2014
Number of rooms available until deadline: 30 standard / 20 comfort

Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
Berswordtstrasse 2
D-44139 Dortmund
Tel. +49 231 9021-0

Arranged conference rate: 76,00 € per night / room
Deadline for bookings according to special conference rate: February 28th, 2014
Number of rooms available until deadline: 40

Hotel NH Dortmund
Koenigswall 1
D-44137 Dortmund
Tel. Reservations +49 30 22 38 51 32
Tel. Hotel +49 231 90 550

Arranged conference rate: 76,00 € per night / room
Deadline for bookings according to special conference rate: March 12th, 2014
Number of rooms available until deadline: 70

Visa Regulations

EU and EEA (European Economic Area) nationals

EU nationals do not require a visa to enter the Federal Republic of Germany.

Non-EU and non-EEA (European Economic Area) nationals

Generally speaking, all other foreigners require a visa for stays in Germany. A visa is not required for semi-annual visits of up to three months for nationals of those countries for which the European Community has abolished the visa requirement.

Citizens of the countries listed below require a visa to enter Germany

Asia and Oceania Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Comoros, Fiji, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran , Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic), Kuwait, 
Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Marshall Islands, Maldives, Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar (Burma), Nauru, Nepal, Northern Mariana Islands (Federated States of Micronesia, Mariana Islands, Caroline Islands, Palau Islands), Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam, Western Samoa, Yemen
North America Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Midway Islands, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands
South America Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Falkland Islands, Guyana, Peru, Pitcairn, Suriname
Africa Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Saint Helena and Dependencies, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Europe Albania, Belarus (see also White Russia), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine, White Russia (see also Belarus)
For visa application and further information please visit the website
of the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs.